Happy Birthday, Doctor

Today was the 45th anniversary of the first episode of Doctor Who. So to celebrate, we watched ‘An Unearthly Child’ which (TV technology notwithstanding) still holds up. I find it somehow remarkable that something made so long ago can have got so much right. That one episode set up everything that went after it, and it feels remarkably modern, even through the crusty black and white and lumbering cameras.

I also wanted to watch an episode from the latest incarnation, so I chose ‘School Reunion’ which reintroduced Sarah Jane Smith so beautifully. It’s an episode I can’t watch without getting a little emotional. In fact, being of a certain age, Sarah Jane was always my favourite companion, so when this episode was coming up, Doctor Who Magazine printed a full page picture of the Doctor and Sarah Jane:

*snif*

*snif*

And just seeing this picture made me cry. Yes, I’m really that sad.

I love Doctor Who. I love it because I watched it as a child, when it scared me and thrilled me. And I love it now because it scares me and thrills me, and it also moves me like few other TV shows can. But mostly I love it because it is the best TV series on television, and not to love it would be madness.

One comment

  1. I want to express appreciation to the writer for bailing me out of this type of matter. Because of scouting through the online world and getting concepts that were not pleasant, I figured my life was done. Being alive without the presence of answers to the difficulties you have resolved as a result of the blog post is a serious case, and the ones that could have adversely damaged my entire career if I had not come across your website. Your knowledge and kindness in touching all the things was precious. I don’t know what I would have done if I had not encountered such a point like this. I am able to now look ahead to my future. Thank you very much for your expert and sensible guide. I will not hesitate to refer your site to any individual who needs and wants recommendations about this subject matter.

Leave a Reply

