Why does my WrapPanel scroll when it’s used as an ItemsPanel?

I’m customising a ListBox (in WPF, not Silverlight) and I want it to live in a WrapPanel rather than a vertically scrollingStackPanel. So my template looks like this:


        <ItemsPanelTemplate x:Key="DrivePanelTemplate">
                <WrapPanel IsItemsHost="True" Orientation="Vertical" />
        </ItemsPanelTemplate>

Simple enough. And my ListBox definition looks like this:


<ListBox x:Name="Drives" 
                     ItemsSource="{Binding}" 
                     Height="80" 
                     ItemsPanel="{DynamicResource DrivePanelTemplate}" 
                     ItemTemplate="{DynamicResource DriveTemplate}">

Simple enough. The Height constraint makes sure the items will wrap if there’s enough of them. But when I run it, I get a scroll bar and a single column, not the two columns I want. This seemed odd, since I haven’t specified a scrollviewer.

What I’m missing is that ListBox does specify a scrollviewer and it’s kicking in for me. The fix is to add


ScrollViewer.VerticalScrollBarVisibility="Disabled" 

to the ListBox declaration, and this stops the implicit scrollviewer kicking in, and the WrapPanel does its job as required. Easy.

Leave a Reply

